New player experience/wishes

BroBro Posts: 3Kickstarter Backer, Space Cat
I didn't really play the game in earlier phases but have now 8 hours of gameplay and first of all would like to say that in general the game FEELS really good. I'm a fan of Freelancer and originally found this game when searching for something similar and am now glad that it has those elements that made flying and battling in space such fun in Freelancer. Especially the handling of the ship is super good, it's fun to just fly through meteors and wrecks and investigate the space.

Here's some issues/wishes I'm having:
  • Some of the UI elements need better highlighting or contrast to the background. I use a HTPC hooked to my TV to play, and have difficulties seeing things especially during fights. I lose the sight both of the crosshair and the evemy's aiming target so aiming is quite difficult. Also the indicators for lootable stuff often disappear into the background and I need to turn the ship sideways to them so the indicator goes the side of the screen and is easier to locate.
  • I'm kind of lost about the main plot. After meeting Seth Nobu, I've been flying and dying, raising my perks and getting better, but I have absolutely no idea if I'm supposed to be doing something, or if I have some goal to reach before the plot progresses, or if there even is a plot that would progress - maybe the rest is just flying around? The game might have told me this after Seth Nobu, but I wasn't paying that much attention, so now I'm just assuming that something happens at some point.
  • It would be nice to be able to target any object in the game (as in Freelancer) - not just enemies. Now I often am flying towards some destination in the distance, get distracted by something else and then end up turning around struggling to find the way I was flying earlier on.