Mouse control

2»

Comments

  • RomanRoman Common Alpha Backer ES1, Customer Posts: 12
    I'm not sure if it's the sensitivity or something else... it just doesn't feel very smooth to me. I'm just reinstalling Galaxy on Fire 2 HD and Salvation Prophecy again to take a look at the difference, maybe then I can report back in better detail.
  • Apollo6124Apollo6124 Kickstarter Alpha Backer ES1, Space Rogue Posts: 10

    A sensitivity slider is very high up our to-do list! Funnily enough, we never ran into any similar problems, even with different mice. To get a little insight: Do you guys feel that the in-game cursor/crosshair is more sensitive than your Windows cursor?

    Anyhow, looking into this ASAP!

    I've got a logitech G5, mouse is MUCH more sensitive in-game than in regular OS. I have to take it from the 1200 DPI I normally use in windows down to 400 DPI when playing. Even with DPI all the way down to 400 it's rather difficult to manage the difference between the minute movement you need to line up on jump coordinates or get your crosshairs on an enemy and pitch or bank hard for evasive maneuvers. For clarity's sake, the "pointer speed" under my mouse options it on the fourth notch, and acceleration is disabled.
  • ROCKFISH_SvenROCKFISH_Sven Moderator Posts: 94
    To those who have a very high mouse sensitivity in-game: What is your desktop resolution and what is your in-game resolution ?
  • GoloithGoloith Common Alpha Backer ES1, Customer Posts: 34
    @ROCKFISH_Sven

    3440x1440
  • ROCKFISH_SvenROCKFISH_Sven Moderator Posts: 94
    ...both ingame and desktop?
  • GoloithGoloith Common Alpha Backer ES1, Customer Posts: 34
    @ROCKFISH_Sven

    I'm currently using that for both ingame and desktop.
  • ROCKFISH_SvenROCKFISH_Sven Moderator Posts: 94
    To those who have a very high mouse sensitivity in-game:
    1. What is your desktop resolution?
    2. What is your in-game resolution ?
  • RudalRudal Customer Posts: 10
    both desktop and in game are 1920x1080
    I created Everspace profile for my mouse and lowered sensitivity in there but I'm yet to try it.
  • AndazeusAndazeus Common Alpha Backer ES1, Customer Posts: 1
    Sensitivity is not the primary issue here. As some people already pointed out, it is the missing deadzone. Rockfish might also want to consider an option to slowly return the movement back to normal when the mouse is not moved. So if you wanted to stop a spin, you would just let go and the ship would center. Elite Dangerous offers that option and it feels very natural.
  • humanevilhumanevil Kickstarter Alpha Backer ES1, Space Optimizr Posts: 98

    To those who have a very high mouse sensitivity in-game: What is your desktop resolution and what is your in-game resolution ?

    mine is 1920x1080 (game is played in full screen mode)
  • VahnkiljoyVahnkiljoy Kickstarter Alpha Backer ES1, Space Optimizr Posts: 107

    To those who have a very high mouse sensitivity in-game:

    1. What is your desktop resolution?
    2. What is your in-game resolution ?
    Both are 1920x1080, I eventually adjusted but a slider is still needed regardless.
  • xKostyanxKostyan Common Alpha Backer ES1, Customer Posts: 13

    To those who have a very high mouse sensitivity in-game:

    1. What is your desktop resolution?
    2. What is your in-game resolution ?
    1) 1920x1200
    2) 1920x1200 Fullscreen
  • RomanRoman Common Alpha Backer ES1, Customer Posts: 12
    compared it with Galaxy on Fire 2 HD,... yes, one of the reasons I don't like it yet is definitely the missing deadzone.

    Also, why does everything blur when I'm turning the ship?
  • WanjiaWanjia Kickstarter Alpha Backer ES1, Space Rogue Posts: 9
    edited May 2016

    To get a little insight: Do you guys feel that the in-game cursor/crosshair is more sensitive than your Windows cursor?

    I have a Rat9 mice here and personaly I don't have any problems with over sensibility, it's more sensitive than the windows cursor yes but I was already exspecting that from a shooter/space/flight game.

    To those who have a very high mouse sensitivity in-game:

    1. What is your desktop resolution?
    2. What is your in-game resolution ?
    To answer this question
    1) 1920x1200
    2) 1920x1200 Fullscreen

  • ROCKFISH_SvenROCKFISH_Sven Moderator Posts: 94
    edited May 2016

    To those who have a very high mouse sensitivity in-game:

    1. What is your desktop resolution?
    2. What is your in-game resolution ?
    Ok, as far as I can see, you have "usual" resolutions and use the same resolution as your desktop, but still have a different mouse sensitivity. Thanks for the response! That should answer my question so far. We will have a look at this.
  • ROCKFISH_SvenROCKFISH_Sven Moderator Posts: 94
    edited May 2016
    We have some more questions to those who experience mouse sensitivity problems:
    1. Does the mouse cursor move at the same speed in the main menu as it does in windows?
    2. Please also add the game resolution to your answer.
    3. Please also add the desktop resolution to your answer.
    4. What happens if you play in windowed mode?
  • Busy BeeBusy Bee Kickstarter Alpha Backer ES1, Space Pro Posts: 9
    Alpha Update v.0.0.0.26475 solved all my mouse control problems.
    I am really enjoying the game now as i can shoot enemy ships now :o
  • BerraniBerrani Space Optimizr Posts: 6
    Desktop resolution: 3440x1440
    Game resolution: 2560x1080 (fullscreen)

    Mouse cursor in menus is the same speed as in Windows. Mouse cursor in game seems to be the same rate of movement as in menus.

    Thing to note: I am running three monitors with a total resolution of 8560x1440. As part of minimizing wrist injury, my default mouse settings are maximum polling rate, DPI, and movement speed with zero acceleration so I don't need to move my mouse very far in most circumstances. That setting combination proves too twitchy to maintain fine control in game, so as a result of that I need to drop my DPI from 2000 to 800. As Goloith stated having a deadzone would help a lot with maintaining targeting.
  • BRUCEBRUCE Common Alpha Backer ES1, Customer Posts: 2
    null
    I'm using Windows 10. I found it worked a lot better after I turned off Windows Mouse acceleration. I also turned my Logitech g700s down to 200. That's the lowest it will go. Good luck I hope this helps you out.
Sign In or Register to comment.